Home > Uncategorized > How to easily switch the default Java version on Mac OSX

How to easily switch the default Java version on Mac OSX

After installing Netbeans and Java7 for some JavaFX tinkering several of my other apps stopped working.

A lot of the solutions I found online involve writing scripts or changing startup scripts for specific programs, but I found none of them easy or maintainable enough. I ended up altering the symbolic link named “Current” in /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions

A link called CurrentJDK in the same directory still pointed at a 1.6 version, so I simply changed the Current link to point to the CurrentJDK link. That way I can simply change it back when I want 1.7 to be the default.

sudo ln -s CurrentJDK/ Current

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

